Chania, Crete, Greece April 2016

Chania, Crete, Greece April 2016

Chania is a lovely port city on the island of Crete with a delightful old town district and a great city beach. I really liked it there.

One big draw is a huge gorge which can be hiked. Unfortunately it is only open for visitors after May so our main plan for visiting didn’t work out. Apparently it snows in the mountains there and the run off floods the trail. It is hard to imagine snow anywhere in Greece because it has always been quite warm when I have been here but I heard this news from a local so I guess it is so.

Regardless, Brad and I had a nice time wandering the old town and laying in the sun. Chania was much less hilly than almost any part of Europe we have visited so far so walking around was really delightful.

Ferry service to and from Athens is available but we flew out of Chania to Athens for about $100.00 USD each including one checked bag. I think a nine hour ferry ride would cost about the same and our flight was about 40 minutes.

The things I liked most about Chania was the old town, the really friendly vendors, and the laid back atmosphere. I am also sure I would have liked the 10 mile hike in the gorge.

I can’t think of anything I didn’t like.

Leave a Reply

