Naxos, Greece April 2016

Naxos, Greece April 2016

I loved Naxos. It is the largest of the islands in the Cycledes. But it feels delightfully small.

Of course Brad and I love historic sites and Naxos has a little bit to offer. Mainly it just seemed really nice to be in a lovely location with super nice people who were happy we were there.

We rented an ATV a couple of times while there. The first day we took a wrong turn and ended up on the far side of the island. It was really lovely. I don’t think I have mentioned how nice it smells in the country. I can’t describe it well. Sometimes it’s like orange blossoms and sometimes it’s like grass and the sea.  For me the aroma of the country side is a great sensation. I love it.

Right now we are lucky because the flowers are blooming everywhere. On our long journey across the island we saw many flowers as well we saw goats doing their thing and lots of small churches and incredible sea views.  No ruins, no historic sites, no museums, but still so nice!

My three favorite things on Naxos are the country side, the easy going attitude of the people who live there, and great beaches.

I can’t think of a thing I didn’t like really, except the wind, which is a thing on all the islands. It really does effect travel so you have to be aware. Also the beach is less fun if it is really windy…but we had fun and went to the beach a few times.

Naxos, Greece

Leave a Reply

