Alausi, Ecuador October 2016

Alausi, Ecuador October 2016

Hmmm. Alausi has little to offer except a tourist train and a big statue of St. Peter. I am not even sure it’s worth a visit on a day trip.  I don’t mean to say that I had a bad time, it just didn’t have much to offer and was actually very expensive compared to the rest of Ecuador but I can’t imagine why.

The train ride was fun. It had some old timey cars and I guess the switch back system was/is a wonder of engineering.  It was basically fun but it’s hard to recommend. We did it because we were there. The town is about 3 hours from Quito which is about my bus limit at least on the very winding roads here in Ecuador.

Leave a Reply

